top of page

The Trial of Rupert Murdoch


4 min 33 sec film, 5.1 or stereo sound


A silent imaginary courtroom drama based on the structure of John Cage's silent work 4' 33".


Pollyanna Nowicki    (Jadwiga Janczewska) 

Tom Pelik    (Witkacy)
Matej Busic    (Bronisław Malinowski) 

Richard Hilliar    (Nicolas)  
Craig Meneaud    (Mr Tengier)
Paul Dwyer    (William Bateson)
Liam Megarrity    (The Prisoner)
Christopher Ryan    (The Policeman)

Clare Grant    (The Tea Lady)  
Hugo Larsen    (Young Witkacy)
Oscar Clarke    (Young Malinowski)

Meg Clarke (Young Woman)
the passengers: Josephine Barton, Juno Butler-Cole, Max Butler-Cole, Katia Molino, Zilla Gillies-Plate, Rory Potter, Finn Potter, Rose Purse, Laura Turner, 
Madelene Veber, Nitin Vengurlekar


written, adapted and directed:  John Gillies
with excerpts from Szalona Lokomotywa (The Crazy Locomotive) 1923 by Stanisław Ignacy Witkiewicz (translated by Izabella Mackiewicz & Lech Mackiewicz)
and words adapted from other writings by Stanisław Ignacy Witkiewicz, Bronisław Malinowski and William Bateson


mise en scène, camera, design, edit, sound design: John Gillies

co-producer: Laura Turner
consulting producer: Lech Mackiewicz 
translation:  Izabella Mackiewicz, Lech Mackiewicz
camera assistants: Joseph Florio, Thomas Robertson
sound recordists: Joseph Florio, Laura Turner, John Gillies
makeup and dresser: Madelene Veber
construction: Robert Cooney, Jacob Gawlick, Willy Hall, Louis Pratt
location manager: Willy Hall 
visual FX: Orbitvfx 
visual compositors: Chris Leaver, Kanin Phemayothin
accounts: Auspicious Arts



Ghan Tracks                                                                                                          
composed and conducted by Jon Rose                                                             
Claire Edwardes: vibraphone                                                                          
Cazzbo Johns: sousaphone
Lamorna Nightingale: piccolo, flute 
Jason Noble: bass clarinet

Damien Ricketson: plectraphone
Clayton Thomas: double bass
Jennifer Torrence: percussion
Eugene Ughetti: vibraphone


The People's Music
composed and conducted by Jon Rose

Orchestra of the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA)



On the Queensland Railway Lines (Trad)

lyrics: Queensland Realist Writers Group

Clare Grant: vocal


all other music by John Gillies


preview: 'Witkacy pod Strzechy', Słupsk, Poland



Love, Materialism and Metaphysics by Keith Gallasch

Witkacy in the Mirror by Stella Rosa McDonald







bottom of page